

Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative
Alliance des villes des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent

ENVI283MC-2006-3255

July 24, 2006

The Honorable Laurel C. Broten Minister of the Environment 12th Floor, 135 St. Clair Avenue West Toronto ON M4V 1P5

Dear Minister:

Comprising over 20% of the world's surface freshwater supply and providing drinking water for more than 40 million people throughout the Great Lakes basin, the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River are irreplaceable treasures which must be preserved. The Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative is working diligently as a unified Canadian and United States local governmental effort to ensure the protection and restoration of this vital resource.

We are at a critical stage in the work to protect and restore the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River, and the continued efforts of all orders of government in Canada and the United States will be required to achieve success. During our Annual Meeting in Parry Sound, Ontario, the mayors and local leaders passed several resolutions. I am enclosing copies of all the resolutions, but direct your attention to the ones concerning the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (Resolution #4), the Canada-Ontario Agreement (Resolution #7), and the Water Conservation and Stewardship Framework Plan (Resolution #8), in particular. We will appreciate your support in moving forward on these key issues.

I, and other directors of the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative, would like to arrange a meeting with you to further discuss the state of the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River and how we can ensure action on the resolutions passed at the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative Annual Meeting. I will follow up with you to schedule a time when we can discuss these important issues.

Sincerely,

Mayor David Miller, City of Toronto &

Chair, Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative

Enclosures



Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative Alliance des villes des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent

Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative Members and Participating Cities List

| Members | | | | | | |
|--------------------------|---------------------|--|-----------|--|--|--|
| City | State / Province | Mayor | Title | | | |
| Chicago | ΠL | Richard M. Daley, Founding Chair, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Cornwall | ON | Phil Poirier | Mayor | | | |
| Duluth | MN | Herb W. Bergson, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Erie | PA | Joseph Sinnott, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Gary | IN | Rudolph Clay | Mayor | | | |
| Goderich | ON | Deb Shewfelt | Mayor | | | |
| Grand Marais | MN | Mark Sandbo | Mayor | | | |
| Grand Rapids | MI | George K. Heartwell, Secretary, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Highland Park | Π L | Michael D. Belsky | Mayor | | | |
| Montréal | QC | Gerald Tremblay, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Parry Sound | ON | Ted Knight | Mayor | | | |
| Port Colborne | ON | Ron Bodner | Mayor | | | |
| Québec Metro Community | QC | Andrée P. Boucher, Director | President | | | |
| Racine | WI | Gary Becker, Vice Chair, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Rochester | NY | Robert J. Duffy, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Salaberry-de-Valleyfield | QC | Denis Lapointe, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Sault St. Marie | ON | John Rowswell | Mayor | | | |
| Sorel-Tracy | QC | Marcel Robert | Mayor | | | |
| St. Catharines | ON | Timothy H. Rigby, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Superior | WI | Dave Ross | Mayor | | | |
| The Archipelago | ON | Peter Ketchum | Reeve | | | |
| Thunder Bay | ON | Lynn Peterson, Director | Mayor | | | |
| Toronto | ON | David Miller, Chair & Director | Mayor | | | |
| | | | | | | |



Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative Alliance des villes des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent

Participating Cities

| City | State / Province | Mayor | Title |
|------------------------|---------------------|--------------------------------------|-------------------|
| Ajax | ON | Steve Parish | Mayor |
| Ashland | WI | Ed Monroe | Mayor |
| Bay City | MI | Robert J. Katt | Mayor |
| Bécancour | QC | Maurice Richard | Mayor |
| Brownstown | MI | Art Wright | Supervisor |
| Buffalo | NY | Byron W. Brown | Mayor |
| Cleveland | , OH | Frank G. Jackson | Mayor |
| Cobourg | ON | Peter Delanty | Mayor |
| Collingwood | ON | Terry Geddes, Treasurer and Director | Mayor |
| Deschambault-Grondines | QC | Jacques Bouillé | Mayor |
| Detroit | MI | Kwame M. Kilpatrick | Mayor |
| Dorval | QC | Edgar Rouleau | Mayor |
| Durham Region | ON | Roger Anderson | Regional Chair |
| East Chicago | IN | George Pabey | Mayor |
| Evanston | IL | Lorraine H. Morton | Mayor |
| Ferndale | MI | Robert Porter | Mayor |
| Ferrysburg | MI | Ray Tejchma | Mayor |
| Fort Erie | ON | Wayne Redekop | Mayor |
| Green Bay | WI | James Schmitt | Mayor |
| Haldimand County | ON | Marie Trainer | Mayor |
| Halton Region | ON | Joyce Savoline | Regional Chair |
| Hamilton | ON | Larry Di Ianni | Mayor |
| Hammond | IN | Thomas McDermott | Mayor |
| Hancock | MI | Barry Givens | Mayor |
| Kingston | ON | Harvey Rosen | Mayor |
| Mackinaw City | MI | Robert R. Heilman | Village President |
| Manistee | MI | Robert Goodspeed | Mayor |
| Manitowoc | WI | Kevin M. Crawford | Mayor |
| Marathon | ON | David Bell | Mayor |
| Marquette | MI | Tony Tollefson | Mayor |
| Michigan City | IN | Chuck Oberlie | Mayor |
| Milwaukee | WI | Tom Barrett | Mayor |
| Monroe | MI | Al Cappucilli | Mayor |
| Niagara Falls | NY | Vincenzo V. Anello | Mayor |
| Niagara-on-the-Lake | ON | Gary Burroughs | Lord Mayor |
| Oakville | ON | Ann Mulvale | Mayor |
| Oshawa | ON | John Gray | Mayor |
| Petoskey | MI . | Dale E. Meyer | Mayor |
| Portage | IN | Douglas W. Olson | Mayor |

177 North State Street, Suite 500. Chicago, Illinois $60601 \sim (312)\,201\,4516$ phone $\sim (312)\,553\,4355$ fax www.greatiakescities.org



Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative
Alliance des villes des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent

Participating Cities

| City | State / Province | Mayor | Title |
|--------------------------|---------------------|----------------------------------|------------------------|
| Prescott | ON | Robert Lawn | Mayor |
| Racine County | WI | William McReynolds | County Executive |
| Rochester Hills | MI | Bryan Barnett | Mayor |
| Royal Oak | MI | Jim Ellison | Mayor |
| Sainte Catherine | QC | Jocelyne Bates | Mayor |
| Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel | QC | Olivar Gravel | Mayor |
| Saugeen Shores | ON | Mark Kraemer | Mayor |
| Sheboygan | WI | Juan Perez | Mayor |
| Sheffield Lake | ОН | John J. Piskura | Mayor |
| Springfield Township | MI | Collin W. Walls | Supervisor |
| Sturgeon Bay | WI | Dennis D. McIntosh | Mayor |
| Traverse City | MI | Linda Smyka | Mayor |
| Toledo | ОН | Carleton S. Finkbeiner, Director | Mayor |
| Vermilion | OH | Jean Anderson | Mayor |
| Ville de Chateauguay | QC | Sergio Pavone | Mayor |
| Ville de la Prairie | QC | Lucie F. Roussel | Mayor |
| Wainfleet | ON | Gord Harry | Mayor |
| Waterford Township | MI | Carl W. Solden | Supervisor |
| West Bloomfield Township | MI | David Flaisher | Supervisor |
| Whiting | IN | Joseph M. Stahura | Mayor |
| Wilmette | IL | Michael J. Earl | Village Manager |
| Windsor | ON | Francis Eddie, Director | Mayor |
| Wind Point | WI | John W. Knuetson | Board President |
| Zion | IL | Lane Harrison | Mayor |