Ministry of Natural Resources

Ontario

SEP 5 1980 REC'D newsrelease

August 21, 1980

Cooperating in

FURTHER DESIGNATIONS UNDER PITS

AND QUARRIES CONTROL ACT

One hundred-and-fifty-eight more townships will come under The Pits and Quarries Control Act effective January 1, 1981, Natural Resources Minister James Auld announced today.

Mr. Auld also explained that the amount of rehabilitation security paid to the Treasurer of Ontario by licensed pit and quarry operators will increase from two cents per ton to eight cents per metric tonne on the same date.

The metric tonne is used for weighing coal, minerals, fertilizers, cereals, and most products that come in large and bulky amounts. One metric tonne equals 1.1023 short tons.

"The operators are reimbursed after rehabilitation and we hope this increase will be an incentive to complete rehabilitation of their sites in a shorter period of time," he said.

The Pits and Quarries Control Act presently applies to 278 townships and 1,600 properties covering the Niagara Escarpment corridor and areas around Toronto, Ottawa, London, Kingston, Windsor, Kitchener, Sudbury and Sault Ste. Marie. "More than 100 million tons of aggregate is produced in this area annually, and although the area covered is relatively small the bulk of Ontario's aggregate production comes under the Act," Mr. Auld added.

The 1971 act regulates the operations and rehabilitation of sand and gravel pits and stone quarries in the province.

The Pits and Quarries Control Act may be replaced by the proposed Bill 127 - The Aggregates Act.

The Minister said that after the Second Reading of Bill 127 by the Ontario Legislature on December 18, 1979, the bill was referred to the Standing Resources Development Committee so submissions from interested groups, organizations and individuals could be heard.

"Several groups recommended that more geographic areas should be covered by the Act," the Minister said.

Mr. Auld explained that the purposes of The Aggregates Act are as follows:

- To provide for the management of the aggregate and Crown aggregate resources of Ontario.

- To control and regulate pits and quarries, wayside pits and quarries and Crown aggregate pits and quarries. - To require the rehabilitation of land from which aggregate or Crown aggregate has been excavated and

- To preserve the character of the environment in respect of the operation of pits and quarries, wayside pits and quarries and Crown aggregate pits and quarries.

- 30 -

FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Miss Sherry Yundt Industrial Minerals Section TORONTO (416) 965-1172

EDITORS: NEW TOWNSHIP LIST ATTACHED.

New Townships Under The Pits And Quarries Control Act

Brockville District

Augusta Bastard Edwardsburgh Elizabethtown Front of Escott Front of Leeds and Lansdowne Front of Yonge Kitley North Crosby

Cornwall District

Alfred Caledonia Cambridge Charlottenburgh Clarence Cornwall East Hawkesbury Finch Kenyon Lancaster

Lanark District

Bathurst Beckwith Dalhousie Darling Drummond Lanark Lavant Oxford Rear of Leeds and Lansdowne Rear of Yonge and Escott South Burgess South Crosby South Elmsley South Gower Wolford

Lochiel Longueuil Matilda Mountain North Plantagenet Osnabruck Roxborough Russell South Plantagenet West Hawkesbury Williamsburgh Winchester

Montague North Burgess North Elmsley North Sherbrooke Pakenham Ramsay South Sherbrooke

page 2

Napanee District

Adolphustown Ameliasburgh Amherst Is. Athol Bedford Camden East Ernestown Hillier Howe Is. Loughborough

Tweed District

Abinger Anglesea Ashby Barrie Clarendon Denbigh Effingham Elzevir Grimsthorpe Hinchinbrooke Hungerford Huntingdon Kaladar North Fredericksburgh North Marysburgh Portland Richmond Sophiasburgh South Fredericksburgh South Marysburgh Storrington Wolfe Is.

..

Kennebec Lake Madoc Marmora Miller North Canonto Olden Oso Palmerston Sheffield South Canonto Tudor page 3

Aylmer District

Adelaide Aldborough Caradoc Dunwich East Williams Ekfrid McGillivray Metcalfe Mosa Southwold West Williams

Chatham District

Brooke Dawn Enniskillen Euphemia Moore Plympton Sarnia Sombra Warwick

Owen Sound District

Bentinck Brant Bruce Egremont Elderslie Greenock Kincardine Normanby Saugeen

Wingham District

Ashfield Carrick Colborne Culross Downie East Wawanosh Ellice Elma Fullarton Goderich Grey Hay Hibbert Howich

Hullett Huron Kinloss Logan McKillop Mornington Morris North Easthope South Easthope Stanley Stephen Tuckersmith Usborne Wallace Turnberry West Wawanosh